Yoga: Is It Going To Keep Me Young?

Catchy title huh? That’s what we all want to know. What is the magic elixir that is going to keep me from aging? To tell you the truth, the Fountain of Youth has yet to be discovered.  I keep looking because brain health is my specialty. With my family history I am really motivated to keep my brain working as long as I am blessed to be here.

You may recognize my friends Susan and Joleen from Sierra Flow Fitness.  They were kind enough to model for me.  I’m stretching my muscles, activating deep joint receptors and working on my balance, I know this exercise is keeping me on my game.  From my post graduate degree in Neurology, I know that as we receive information from our muscle and joint receptors our brains become activated. Specifically the signals from shoulder and hip joints powerfully feed the movement, balance and reaction part of the brain, the Cerebellum.

When researching scientific articles about yoga I found many references saying that yoga is helpful in improving many medical conditions as well as quality of life. My favorite quote is from the International Journal Of Yoga,

” Results from this study show that yogic practices enhance muscular strength and body flexibility, promote and improve respiratory and cardiovascular function, promote recovery from and treatment of addiction, reduce stress, anxiety, depression, and chronic pain, improve sleep patterns, and enhance overall well-being and quality of life.”

From experience in myself and others, and the scholarly articles I read, I have to say definitely that Yoga along with a healthy lifestyle may contribute to keeping your brain and body in a youthful mindset.

 

Reference: Woodyard C. Exploring the therapeutic effects of yoga and its ability to increase quality of life. Int J Yoga [serial online] 2011 [cited 2017 Feb 7];4:49-54. Available from: http://www.ijoy.org.in/text.asp?2011/4/2/49/85485

 

Please leave me a comment and let me know if you liked this article or if you didn’t. I’d also like to know what else you would like to learn about.

For more fun stuff check out my website: www.communitychiro.org

 

One thought on “Yoga: Is It Going To Keep Me Young?

Leave a comment